Woman reading books in a book store

Mark & Evette Moran Nib Literary Award is Waverley Council’s national celebration of quality literature anchored in excellent research. Now in its 23rd year, The Nib is one of the most prestigious and valuable literary awards in the country, having distributed more than $500,000 directly to deserving authors, including former winners Tim Low, Helen Garner, Gideon Haigh, Clare Wright and Delia Falconer. It remains the only award of its type presented by a local government authority.

Winners are celebrated annually at a public event in the Bondi Pavilion Theatre.

Nominations are now open for the 2024 Mark & Evette Moran Nib Literary Award

Submitted works are judged against the specific award criteria of excellence in research, high literary merit, readability, and value to the community. Winners are decided by an independent panel of three judges, each of whom brings a wealth of experience from across the literary world.

This year, a total prize offering of over $50,000 is offered, including the $40,000 major prize.

Other prizes include:
* Alex Buzo Shortlist Prize (6x $1,500)
* Nib People’s Choice Prize ($4,000)

The Mark & Evette Moran Nib Literary Award is made possible thanks to the generous support from Principal Sponsors Mark and Evette Moran, and the assistance of community partner Gertrude and Alice Bookshop and CafĂ©.

A haven for community, arts and culture